April 2009

people, plaudits, and promotions

employeeDavid Jolley will join TVA April 27 as assistant director of TVA Police and transition to the position of director upon the retirement of James Carver, current director of TVAP. Jolley has served as the United States marshal for the Western District of Tennessee since 2002 and is well known in the Tennessee Valley region’s law-enforcement community. As U.S. marshal, he directs the day-to-day operations of the Memphis and Jackson offices, including the investigation and apprehension of federal fugitives; security for the federal courthouse, courtroom proceedings and judicial chambers; and oversight of the district’s administrative functions. Previously, Jolley was a special agent/criminal investigator with the Tennessee Bureau of Investigation, where he served for 18 years. Carver announced his plans to retire from TVA around the end of the fiscal year. Carver has been TVAP director since 2000 and has been with TVA for 22 years.

The Nuclear Power Group has selected six employees as Professionals of the Year for 2008 for exemplifying key values that help ensure safe, reliable and efficient operation of TVA’s nuclear plants. These awards were created to acknowledge Nuclear workers who demonstrate a commitment to safe work habits, pride in their work and professional performance while setting positive examples for others.

photo photo photo

Richard Bookout (left) of Sequoyah Nuclear Plant, Arthur Buchanan Jr. (middle) of Watts Bar Nuclear Plant and Michael Johnson (right) of Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant were named Nuclear Maintenance Professionals of the Year. Bookout, a nuclear mechanical technician III, was chosen for his overall dedication, attitude and teamwork, as well as for his commitment to safety and for the example he sets in carrying out his work. Buchanan, a senior instrument mechanic, was selected for his knowledge and experience, his cooperative attitude and attention to detail and safety, and for a willingness to tackle difficult assignments. Johnson, a maintenance specialist, was recognized for the pride he takes in his work, his persistence in doing what it takes to complete his assignments, and for a consistently positive attitude.

photo photo photo

Douglas Bowman (left) of Watts Bar Nuclear Plant, Sandra LeRoy (middle) of Sequoyah Nuclear Plant and Richard Walker (right) of Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant were named Radiation Protection, Chemistry & Environment Professionals of the Year. Bowman, a radiation protection health physicist, was chosen for his organizational and planning skills, his efficiency and effectiveness, his commitment to safety and his “can do” attitude. LeRoy, a radiation protection technician, was recognized for her teamwork and accountability, a willingness to work long hours to get the job done, and for her experience in working with personnel at all of TVA’s nuclear sites. Walker, a radwaste laborer, was selected for his training skills and for displaying a consistently professional approach to his work, as well as for serving as a positive role model for others.

employeeBill Walker, a technician at Watts Bar Hydro Plant, recently received River Operations’ quarterly Hydro Production award. The award recognizes non-management employees for demonstrating high achievement in one or more of the following categories: safety, pride, teamwork, personal growth and positive attitude. Co-workers nominate individuals for the award, and winners are selected by a committee consisting of management and non-management representatives from each Hydro Production region. In addition to displaying the highest level of STAR 7 values, Walker was cited specifically for his technical expertise and outstanding performance during two recent maintenance outages. Hydro Production’s employee-of-the-year award will be selected from the quarterly winners.

new employees

Jeffrey Wayne Lawson, Spring City, NPG
Reynold Kenneth Lawson, Brownsville, FPG
William Dewytt Leatherwood, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
James Travis Lee, Chattanooga, FS
Jess Franklin Lee, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Matthew Allen Ligon, Muscle Shoals, FPG
Shane Michael Lott, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Tina R. Lott, Drakesboro, FPG
Joseph W. Lovett, Decatur, NPG
Darlene T. Mabry, Decatur, NPG
James A. Madison, Spring City, NPG
Darrell James Mansholt, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
George Thomas Manthey, Chattanooga, Procurement
Steven Marler, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Duke Russell Martin, Clinton, FPG
Anthony Angelo Martinez, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Kenneth Glenn Mathias, Spring City, NPG
Geoffrey Hearnsberger McClain, Decatur, NPG
Willard L. McCullough, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Grant Wade McGuire, Brownsville, FPG
Jason Wayne McLeod, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Melissa Jean McMillan, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Virgil William McNelley, Kingston, FPG
Gregory S. Miler, Chattanooga, IS
Jeffery James Miller, Spring City, NPG
Ricky Felton Miller, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Trisha Lynn Miller, Spring City, FS
Charles Andrew Mitchell, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Charlie Edward Moats, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Jacob M. Moon, Spring City, NPG
Jody Allen Moore, Spring City, NPG
Elizabeth Grace Morgan, Chattanooga, IS
Richard Pierson Murk, Brownsville, FPG
Bart Laverne Murray, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Derek Dale Murray, Spring City, NPG
Roger D. Nichols, Decatur, NPG
Terry E. Nixon, Decatur, NPG
Charles Philip Norton, Knoxville, FS
Kyalo Mwendwa Ntheketha, Brownsville, FPG
Sam Henry Oldham, Spring City, NPG
Marcia Richardson Olson, Knoxville, Treasurer
Dawn D. Overton, Drakesboro, FPG
Kenneth W. Pagel, New Johnsonville, FM
Benjamin Albert Palmer, Chattanooga, IS
Tiffany Chanel Patton, Chattanooga, IS
Traci Jean Payne, Chattanooga, Nuclear Generation, Development & Construction
Eldon D. Pearce, Brownsville, FPG
Kevin Wade Peden, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Michael Jason Penney, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Bruce David Pfeiffer, Spring City, NPG