August/September 2009

Across TVA

Blood drives help save lives


At Sequoyah Nuclear Plant, laborer Brandon Stinnett gives a unit of blood during the recent drive.

More than 300 units of blood were donated during the recent Nuclear Power Group’s Energy for Life blood drives at Browns Ferry Nuclear Plant, at the Chattanooga Office Complex, at Watts Bar Nuclear Plant and at Sequoyah Nuclear Plant.

The Energy for Life program is sponsored by the Nuclear Energy Institute, which coordinates the drives with nuclear-related facilities across the country.

The June 15 blood drive at Browns Ferry collected 69 units of blood for LifeSouth; the July 7 drive at the Chattanooga Office Complex brought in 64 units; the July 22 Watts Bar Nuclear Plant netted 97 units; and the July 23 Sequoyah Nuclear Plant’s drive resulted in 77 units.

Leadership graduatesphoto

Forty of TVA’s top-talent mid-level managers and high-potential first-line supervisors recently graduated from Leadership & Management for Accelerated Performance, or L-MAP, program. The leadership-development program is designed to prepare mid-level managers to lead at higher levels in TVA. Graduation events were held June 26 at Vanderbilt University’s Owen Graduate School of Management and at the Vanderbilt Law School. This year’s graduates are the following:

G. Michael Arthur, Customer Resources
Monika Beckner, Financial Services
David L. Bowling Jr., River Operations, Northern
Kevin C. Chandler, Customer Resources
Mark Creech, Power Supply & Fuels
William G. Cronin, Fossil Power Group, Widows Creek Fossil Plant
Betsy Marie Eiford-Lee, Nuclear Power Group
Carol E. Eimers, River Operations
Tracy A. Flippo, Power System Operations
Van L. Ford, Nuclear Power Group
Robert W. Harrington, Fossil Power Group
David M. Harrison, Information Services
Melissa A. Hedgecoth, Fossil Power Group
Terry W. Johnson, Communications
Rebecca L. Jones, Financial Services
Brian D. Keeling, Fossil Power Group
Kimberly D. Lubienski, Procurement
David E. Marler Jr., Power Supply & Fuels
Ellen M. McCloy, Office of Environment & Research
Mark T. McFadden, Nuclear Power Group
Ricky E. Misso, Customer Resources
Nancy K. Mitchell, Government & Valley Relations
Annette Louise Moore, Power System Operations
Eric T. Murrell, Power System Operations
Todd P. Noe, Nuclear Power Group
Stacey Lynn Parrott, Nuclear Power Group
Joseph Nicholas Pietrantone Jr., Power Supply & Fuels
Billy W. Pierce Jr., Nuclear Power Group
Sharon P. Puckett, Nuclear Power Group
Jeffrey J. Reidy, Nuclear Power Group
Emily J. Roberts, Government & Valley Relations
William T. Sabin, Fossil Power Group
Teresa D. Taylor, Financial Services
Roy J. Teal, Office of Environment & Research
Susan Smelley Tidwell, Office of Environment & Research
Rebecca Chunn Tolene, Office of the General Counsel
Janie M. Wallace, Human Resources
Rhonda Sue Whitaker-Hamm, Power System Operations
Charles J. Woodle, Corporate Responsibility & Diversity
Kevin D. York, River Operations, Western