January 2009

people, plaudits, and promotions

photoAmy Tate, a program manager in Communications, Government & Valley Relations in Tupelo, has been selected as one of Mississippi’s Top 40 Under 40 for 2009. As one of the state’s “outstanding achievers,” Tate will be recognized during the Mississippi Business & Technology Expo this month. In addition, the Mississippi Business Journal will publish a special section featuring photographs and articles on her and the other recipients.

photoRandy Smith, a 22-year TVA veteran and line-crew foreman in the Transmission Operations & Maintenance organization’s Columbia Transmission Service Center, recently was named TOM Professional of 2008. The TOM Professional Recognition Program gives employees of the organization an opportunity to acknowledge their peers and express appreciation for superior performance and sustained commitment to STAR 7 values. The other quarterly TOM professionals also were honored during the awards ceremony in December. In addition to Smith, the quarterly award winners were Jane Burns, a transmission system technician at Starkville; Jackie Green, a right-of-way specialist stationed in Tupelo; and Alvin Nelson, a transmission communication technician at Alcoa.

Hoagland Named VP of Environmental Science, Technology & Policy

Breeden to assume Hoagland’s previous role in EEDR on interim basis 

photoJoe Hoagland has been selected as vice president of Environmental Science, Technology & Policy in the Office of Environment & Research.

Hoagland previously served as VP of Energy Efficiency & Demand Response. He will report to Anda Ray, senior vice president of OE&R.

In addition, Hoagland will assume a lead role for OE&R in the Kingston Fossil Plant fly-ash-release recovery to help coordinate the offsite TVA-wide environmental-support activities, reporting to Recovery Executive Preston Swafford and Environmental Executive Anda Ray.

photoKen Breeden, executive vice president of Customer Resources, has assumed Hoagland’s previous role on an interim basis of managing the EEDR organization to ensure the current level of executive support and focus is maintained. Breeden will work with distributors of TVA power and other customers to make sure they understand TVA is still committed to the EEDR effort.


New Employees

Ronald Lee Baker, Spring City, Nuclear Power Group

John Earl Carter, Grand Rivers, TVA Police

Timothy J. Cook, Spring City, NPG

Gregory D. Daniel, Muscle Shoals, Fossil Power Group

Michael James Dooley, Decatur, NPG

Karen Sue Franklin, Spring City, NPG

Seth Dudley Graham, Spring City, NPG

Kevin Jeffrey Guffey, Chattanooga, Procurement

Joseph T. Hansen, Spring City, NPG

Richard Grady Herrin, Decatur, Human Resources

Claire R. Holt, Decatur, NPG

Joshua Brandon Hudson, Chattanooga, Information Services

Michael Thomas Hughes, Knoxville, Facilities Management

Adam L. Jackson, Chattanooga, Power Supply & Fuels

Christopher D. Jackson, Decatur, NPG

Deanna D. Johnson, Chattanooga, Power System Operations

Peggy Siler Kirby, Decatur, NPG

Kenneth Langdon, Chattanooga, FPG

Jo Anne Lavender, Knoxville, HR

Alan Berton MacDonald, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Audrey Noelle Macri, Rogersville, Financial Services

James Halsey McCarthy, Decatur, NPG

Sarah Elizabeth McEntyre, Chattanooga, FS

Timothy James Morse, Decatur, NPG

Samuel Kenzo Nakamine, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Mitchell Shane Parks, Clinton, FS

Alan Wayne Parrott, West Paducah, FPG

David Lee Raithel, Spring City, NPG

Eddie Leroy Ramey, New Johnsonville, FPG

James Joseph Randich, Decatur, NPG

Patsy A. Reeves, West Paducah, FPG

William Brian Rodgers, Muscle Shoals, FPG

Susan Renee Sands, Kingston, FM

Brenda F. Simril, Chattanooga, NPG

Barry S. Snider, Chattanooga, FPG

Thomas E. Spink, Chattanooga, Nuclear Generation Development & Construction

Julia R. Taylor, Chattanooga, Procurement

William Allen Taylor, Spring City, NPG

Bobby F. Terrell, Muscle Shoals, FPG

Mary Elizabeth Turner, Chattanooga, HR

Philenus McKinley Westbay, West Paducah, FPG

Jerad Ross Young, Drakesboro, FPG