July 2008

people, plaudits, and promotions

photoLes Bays has been elected to the TVA Retirement System Board of Directors in a runoff election with Tony Troyani. Bays, a systems engineer at John Sevier Fossil Plant, received 1,646 votes (about 52 percent). Troyani, a senior instrument mechanic foreman at Cumberland Fossil Plant, received 1,505 votes (about 48 percent). Bays’ term will run through Oct. 31, 2010.

photoJay Miller, who has more than 30 years of nuclear-power experience, has joined the Nuclear Power Group as senior manager, Corporate Operations Oversight. Miller will be responsible for providing corporate oversight of the operations function, further ensuring activities at TVA nuclear-power plants are conducted in accordance with regulations and procedures. He will help monitor the training and qualifying of Operations personnel and identify potential design or procedural changes for the fleet that will lead to performance improvements in the areas of safety, efficiency and productivity. He also will serve as the Operations Peer Team Lead. Miller comes to TVA from Entergy, where he has served as operations manager for the River Bend Station. Over the past 18 years, he has held a variety of positions with Entergy, including work at two boiling-water reactor plants, managing training functions and participating as a loanee to the Institute of Nuclear Power Operations.

photoMelissa Morgan has been named general manager for TVA’s Economic Development Business Resources group, which is based in Nashville. Morgan will oversee TVA’s economic-growth efforts to support partners in job creation and capital investment in the TVA service territory. She will focus on the support of existing businesses and industries, retail recruitment, minority- and women-owned businesses, business incubation, Appalachian Regional Commission partnership activities and Economic Development’s loan portfolio administration. Morgan joined TVA in 2003 and most recently served as Economic Development senior project manager coordinating TVA’s community-development activities in Kentucky.

photoAshley Taylor, an engineering instructor with Watts Bar Nuclear Plant’s Training organization, recently was honored with an Excellence Award for her service to North America-Young Generation in Nuclear. Taylor received the award at the NA-YGN conference in Chicago, where she was commended for her leadership and devoted service to the local NA-YGN chapters and for leading the group’s meetings at Watts Bar. Taylor also is known for her efforts to enhance recruiting and retention of young professionals in the nuclear-power field. Specifically, she was recognized for facilitating NA-YGN participation at college fairs and interview events for TVA, as well as for her current efforts to develop a TVA Welcome Guide for potential new hires.

New Employees

Danielle D. Akins, Financial Services, Nashville
Sandra Jo Armstrong, Nuclear Power Group, Spring City
Gregory B. Bishop, Fossil Power Group, Brownsville
Gregory A. Boerschig, NPG, Spring City
Jason A. Brake, Customer Resources, Nashville
Bryson Larry Branham, NPG, Spring City
Harry William Brewer Jr., NPG, Spring City
Jefferey G. Browder, NPG, Decatur
Matthew Austin Brown, Customer Resources, Nashville
Joseph S. Bryant, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
Richard C. Buechler, FPG, Stevenson
Rodney Collins, Facilities Management, Bristol
Tommy G. Crowe, NPG, Spring City
S. Mark Dover, NPG, Chattanooga
Billy David Elkins, Nuc Gd&C, New Johnsonville
Sherry Ann Embry, FPG, Drakesboro
James Duncan Flowers, FS, Kingston
Talmadge J. Gaylor, Inspector General, Nashville
Susan Haisley, FS, Knoxville
Gina Marie Harris, Power System Operations, Chattanooga
Timothy Scott Hartman, NPG, Spring City
Robert Timothy Hope, FPG, Chattanooga
Cody Scott Hudson, TVA Police, Memphis
John Scott Jones, NPG, Spring City
James Andrew Kent, NPG, Decatur
Christopher Todd Law, Central Support & Repair, Chattanooga
Clifton Randolph Lowry, Retirement Services, Knoxville
Calvin Adel McCullough, NPG, Chattanooga
Terry Bryan McPhail, PSO, Chattanooga
William C. Methvin, Commercial Operations & Fuels, Chattanooga
Paula P. Minnicks, CR, Bowling Green
Chad William Monroe, NPG, Spring City
Andrew S. Newell, NPG, Decatur
Robert A. Patton, CSR, Chattanooga
Stuart Loveridge Rymer, NPG, Spring City
Karen Miller Smith, FS, Stevenson
Gabriel A. Trotter, Procurement, Chattanooga
Jenny C. Trotter, FS, Chattanooga
Travis Neil Uptegrove, NPG, Spring City
Timothy Justin Vineyard, RS, Brownsville
Michael A. Williford, FS, Knoxville
Jason Woodle, Corporate Responsibility & Diversity, Knoxville