June 2008

TVA Honorees

Skila Harris honored for TVA Board service


TVA Board Director Skila Harris completed a nine-year term and resigned from the board on May 19. Harris, a native of Bowling Green, Ky., was the first woman to be appointed to the board. TVA Board Chairman Bill Sansom and TVA President & Chief Executive Officer Tom Kilgore presented Harris with a TVA proclamation honoring her service to TVA and nearly three decades of experience in the nation’s energy sector.

Dear Fellow Employees,

My years with TVA have passed quickly but my experiences will stay with me forever. Thank you for the welcoming smiles you greeted me with as I traveled around TVA and the insights and words of encouragement you shared in our conversations. It made me love my job.

I always will be grateful to you for inspiring me with your hard work,
commitment and your dedication to public service. You have taught me about the importance of doing a job well and the strength that comes from working as a team. I have been inspired by how you adapt to change and challenge while at the same time you work to be the best at what you do.

Being associated with TVA is a source of great pride to me. It has been an honor to be part of this great institution and to serve the Tennessee Valley with you.

With respect and admiration,

Skila Harris








Honored for 40 and more years of service


Before the May 19 Board meeting in Muscle Shoals, TVA recognized 27 employees who had 40 and more years of service this year. The following 15 employees attended the event: (first row, from left) Glenn D. Webb, Paradise Fossil Plant; Roy W. Kennedy, Power System Operations, Chattanooga; Sherry A. Garrett, PSO, Tupelo, Miss.; Michael L. Moore, Widows Creek Fossil Plant; Wilton E. Cherry, Cumberland Fossil Plant; Douglass S. Coleman, Kingston Fossil Plant; Charles E. Whitfield, PSO, Oakfield, Tenn.; Joseph A. Benedict Jr., Bull Run Fossil Plant; Lee Parris, River Operations, Knoxville. Second row, from left: Johnny S. Smith, Office of Environment & Research, Muscle Shoals; Byron D. Hulgan, PSO, Chattanooga; Barbara J. Mitchell, OE&R, Muscle Shoals; J.W. Price, FPG, Gallatin Fossil Plant; J. Darwin Bridges, OE&R, Muscle Shoals; and Daryl R. Armentrout, OE&R, Greenway-Knoxville. Employees not pictured are Philip S. Adams, Power System Operations, Chattanooga; Johny D. Baker, PSO, Nashville; S. Jean Bryson, Financial Services, Knoxville; Jesse N. McAdoo, PSO, Chattanooga; Jerry B. Moore, Power Service Center, Chattanooga; Jean D. Nance, Procurement, Knoxville; Newton H.L. Perry, OE&R, Knoxville; Daniel F. Provine Jr., PSO, Chattanooga; Deborah P. Runyan, COO Commercial Operations, Chattanooga; David B. Smith, PSO, Chattanooga; Kenneth S. Walker, PSO, Centerville, Tenn.; and Don O. Whitehead, Office of General Counsel, Knoxville.