June 2008

People, Plaudits, and Promotions

photoSteve Davis, Middle Tennessee principle engineer in Customer Service, recently received a letter of commendation from the Knoxville General Services Administration for his part in helping the Winchester Federal Courthouse receive an Energy Star Award. “We wish to thank Steve for his effort and expertise,” said Gary Whittington, facilities manager for GSA’s Southeast division.

photoTracy McCrory, a specialist in System Planning in Power System Operations, is a member of Leadership Chattanooga’s 2008 graduating class. Representing TVA Chattanooga employees, McCrory completed the 10-month leadership-development program that develops leadership skills and prepares individuals for prominent business, cultural and political roles in the community.

photoAlvin E. Nelson, a technician in Transmission Communications East Area, has been selected as the Transmission Operations & Maintenance Professional for the second quarter of fiscal year 2008. Nelson was nominated in the STAR 7 categories of safety, pride in work, teamwork, personal growth and positive attitude. He was nominated by three different people for this quarterly award.

photoCharles Sample, TVA power-utilization engineer for the Alabama District, recently set up an infrared thermography and ultrasonic leak-detect technology demonstration in the Toyota engine plant in Huntsville, Ala., for a group of executives from all of Toyota’s North American manufacturing facilities. Dan Degelow, manager of Maintenance for Toyota’s Alabama facility, said, “We greatly appreciated Charles’ support of Toyota. I also want to recognize the infrared and ultrasonic-scanning customer support we receive from Huntsville Utilities and TVA.”

photoTerry Snapp, a participant scheduling specialist in Power System Operations and 8-year TVA employee, is the first TVA system operator to earn his North American Electric Reliability Corp. recertification through the newly redesigned NERC process requiring continuing-education hours. The System Operator Certification Program promotes excellence in the area of system-operator performance.

photoGallatin Fossil Plant’s Erik Thurston, who has just completed his unit operator upgrade, was recognized at a management-review meeting for “serving as an outstanding assistant unit operator, taking charge of work tasks and providing great leadership by his positive example and work ethic.”

New Employees

Camille Adams, Nuclear Power Group, Spring City
Matthew Scott Ballinger, NPG, Decatur
Matthew D. Barbre, Fossil Power Group, Southaven
Brenda Bobo, FPG, Caledonia
Richard Bohon, FPG, Caledonia
Michael Bottorff, NPG, Spring City
J.W. Brinner, FPG, Caledonia
Della D. Brown, FPG, Southaven
Scott Bussey, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
Daryl K. Byrd, FPG, Tuscumbia
Phillip Michael Campbell, NPG, Decatur
Dustin Carver, NPG, Spring City
Alan Casaday, FPG, Chattanooga
James Daniel Clayton, FPG, Southaven
Gary Couture, FPG, Southaven
Charles L. Crowden, FPG, Kingston
Jeffery K. Dalton, FPG, Kingston
Helen L. Darby, FPG, Tuscumbia
Ronnie Ray Davis, FPG, Tuscumbia
William Brandon Ernest, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
Jimmy L. Fesmire, FPG, New Johnsonville
Michael Franks, Power System Operations, West Point, Miss.
Bruce Friel, Facilities Management, Chattanooga
Paul Gain Jr., NPG, Soddy-Daisy
Elizabeth Gates, Financial Services, Chattanooga
Cole A. Gentry, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
John Grace, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
Rodney C. Graves, FPG, Southaven
Aaron Harmon, NPG, Spring City
John Hartmann, NPG, Decatur
Jimmy Holden, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
John Howard, FPG, Caledonia
Daryl Brian Jackson, NPG, Decatur
Percy Leon Johnson, FPG, Tuscumbia
Kyle Dale Jones, NPG, Decatur
Bryan Timothy Klein, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
Steve Ksuenda, NPG, Chattanooga
Michael Lee Lane II, Office of the Inspector General, Chattanooga
Harland Manuel Lewis, FPG, Tuscumbia
Bradley Michael Love, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
John Darrin Manahan, FPG, Southaven
Timothy Marble, FPG, Caledonia
Henry Martin, FS, Knoxville
Brooks Mattison, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
Jennifer Miller, Facilities Management, Chattanooga
Mark Randall Moebes Jr., NPG, Decatur
Teresa Norwood, FPG, Kingston
John Nuchols, FM, Norris
Christopher O’Neil, Procurement, Spring City
Richard Orsic Jr., FPG, Southaven
Paul Gene Palmer Jr., FPG, Southaven
Joseph Nicholas Pietrantone IV, FS, Chattanooga
Billy Gene Pittman, NPG, Decatur
Jonathan Pope, NPG, Spring City
Michelle Pope, NPG, Spring City
Mark D. Porter, NPG, Chattanooga
Kenneth Raeta, FPG, Caledonia
Lorey Wayne Ransom, FPG Southaven
Stanton Rose, FPG, Caledonia
Michael Stephen Roth, FPG, Southaven
Jennifer J. Saunders, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
Andy Jon Schoerner, FS, Knoxville
Derrik Siems, FPG, Caledonia
Brandon Seth Skeen, FS, Knoxville
David Paul Skelskey, FPG, Southaven
Timothy F. Stafford, FPG, Southaven
Brenda Kay Sowter, NPG, Chattanooga
Harry F. Specht III, FPG. Southaven
James W. Steckley, FPG, Southaven
Michael Stephens, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
Leslie Swinea, FS, Chattanooga
Dorothy Tatum, PSO, Chattanooga
James B. Triplett Jr., FPG, Tuscumbia
Fred Wayne Vannucci, FPG, Southaven
Jerry Weakley, FPG, Tuscumbia
Rodney William Wendell, NPG, Decatur
Michael White, NPG, Spring City
Mark O. Whitten, FPG, Southaven
Mark E. Wilson, FPG, Southaven
Timothy Carson Wilkerson, FM, Lenoir City
Thomas E. Wooley, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
Jeffrey T. Wright, NPG, Decatur
James Wyatt, FPG, Caledonia