June 2009

people, plaudits, and promotions


  photo photo
  Mark Crisp Jason Krupp

Mark Crisp, site manager for Gallatin Combustion Turbines, accepted two awards for TVA at the April Combustion Turbine Operations Task Force semi-annual forum. The Best Practices Awards, given annually by Combined Cycle Journal, recognize valuable contributions to the combustion-turbine industry to improve plant performance. TVA received two Best Practices Awards: Crisp won the Management award and Jason Krupp, Power Utilization engineer in Customer Services & Marketing in Nashville, won the Operations & Maintenance award. The Combustion Turbine Operations Task Force is a national organization comprised of more than 800 combustion-turbine owners and operators.

  photo photo
  La’Nita Jones Carolyn Minter

La’Nita Jones and Carolyn Minter recently graduated from Leadership Chattanooga and Leadership Knoxville programs, respectively. Jones is a communications consultant in Communications, Government & Valley Relations and Inside TVA editor. Minter is a senior manager in CG&VR. They completed the 10-month leadership-development programs that develop leadership skills and prepare individuals for prominent business, political and cultural roles in their communities.

photoTracy Hightower, an Information Technology Infrastructure architect in Information Services in Chattanooga, has been inducted into the Ronald McDonald House Charities Volunteer Hall of Fame 2009. Hightower volunteers at the Ronald McDonald House, cooks once a month in the Adopt-A-Meal program and is an active member of the Chattanooga Friends, a group of young professionals who are raising funds for the Ronald McDonald House Charities organization. Hightower initiatiated a bowling tournament, which is in its 3rd year, to benefit RMHC. She will join the Ronald McDonald House board in June. The Volunteer Hall of Fame was created in 2000 to recognize the many volunteers who have gone “above and beyond” the call of duty or died during their service as a volunteer for the Ronald McDonald House.

photoDave Sigler, a technician at Guntersville Hydro Plant, recently received River Operations’ quarterly Hydro Production award. The award recognizes non-management employees for demonstrating high achievement in one or more of the following categories: safety, pride, teamwork, personal growth and positive attitude. Co-workers nominate individuals for the award, and winners are selected by a committee consisting of management and non-management representatives from each Hydro Production region. In addition to displaying the highest level of STAR 7 values, Sigler was cited specifically for his role in solving a recurring problem with pump bearings at the plant, for his willingness to share his knowledge with his fellow workers, and for promoting the success of multiskilling through his personal commitment to learning new tasks. Hydro Production’s employee-of-the-year award will be selected from the quarterly winners.


New Employees

William Matthew Abbott, Soddy-Daisy, Nuclear Power Group

Leo Abernathy, Tuscumbia, Fossil Power Group

Timothy W. Acker, Spring City, NPG

Bradley A. Adams, Knoxville, Financial Services

William Joel Adkins, Chattanooga, Power System Operations

Jonathan Heath Allen, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Chirayu Dhruv Amin, Spring City, NPG

Paul David Anderson, Decatur, NPG

Cindy Marie Arnold, Spring City, NPG

Tonia R. Arwood, Murphy, TVA Police

Don E. Bain, Gallatin, FPG

Christopher A. Baird, Drakesboro, FPG

Randall A. Baker, New Johnsonville, FPG

Horace Gregory Barker, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

James Howell Barry, Spring City, NPG

Kelly Renee Baxter, Knoxville, Office of Environment & Research

Lindsey Elana Bayles, Spring City, NPG

John L. Beasley, Drakesboro, FPG

Guy M. Beaty, Chattanooga, Information Services

Roger Dale Bell, Decatur, Supply Chain

Scott W. Bennett, Memphis, Facilities Management

Andrew Joseph Benson, Harriman, FPG

John Edward Berryman, Muscle Shoals, Customer Support & Repair

Ronald S. Best, Chattanooga, FPG

Vincent Alton Bianco, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Wendell R. Blair, Kingston, FPG

Nicholas Lewis Boggess, Drakesboro, FPG

Kimberly Anita Bolton, Knoxville, Office of General Counsel

Synthia D. Booker, Spring City, NPG

William J. Bouslog, Decatur, NPG

James Donald Bowers, New Johnsonville, FPG

Donald Allen Boyles, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Bryan L. Bringle, Knoxville, IS

Gary Scott Brinkworth, Chattanooga, Power Supply & Fuels

Dustin H. Brock, Knoxville, Financial Services

Keela Jill Brookshire, Knoxville, TVAP

Donald A. Brown, Muscle Shoals, FPG

Richard Seth Brown, Chattanooga, PSO

Wheatley Abram Brown, Tupelo, PSO

Scott Edward Bruce, Drakesboro, FPG

Denise Kristy Budd, Chattanooga, FS

Charles Roy Buchleiter, Spring City, NPG

Amber Lashai Buckels, Chattanooga, FS

Russell S. Bunten, Spring City, NPG

Geneva Ann Burchfield, Knoxville, Facilities Management

Gilbert O. Burton, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Benjamin S. Butler, New Johnsonville, FPG

Mildred E. Callaway, Nashville, Customer Resources

Andrew Blake Carroll, Chattanooga, PSO

Karen Jayne Carwile, Decatur, NPG

Todd M. Caudill, Drakesboro, TVAP

David R. Caulliette, Spring City, NPG

Phillip Edward Chandler, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Philip Linwood Chase, Decatur, NPG

Derrick Raynardo Chatman, Muscle Shoals, TVAP

James Edward Chauncey, Spring City, NPG

Steven Lawrence Cherry, Muscle Shoals, CS&R

Shannon D. Churchwell, Decatur, NPG

Daniel D. Coffey, Decatur, NPG

Raphael Charles Colombo, Chattanooga, PS&F

Mark A. Combs, Drakesboro, FPG

Larry W. Compton, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Melissa Lea Conforti, Knoxville, Inspector General

Frank Richard Conlow, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Johnny Ross Cook, Muscle Shoals, TVAP

Lakiesha D. Cosey, Chattanooga, Nuclear Generation, Development & Construction

Benjamin D. Cossey, Mayfield, CR

Jared Glynn Cox, Chattanooga, PSO