May 2009

people, plaudits, and promotions

A patriotic salute to a co-worker


From left, Assistant Unit Operator and local Veterans Association chapter representative Barry O’Neal, United States Army Reserve Sgt. Danny Melton and wife Amy Melton show the signed poster presented to Melton at a recent John Sevier Fossil Plant meeting. Melton, a unit 2 operator, is a member of the 844th Engineer Battalion in Knoxville, which has been sent to central Iraq to build roads and construct buildings. In addition to the poster signed by the employees, the TVA Veterans Association and IBEW members collected $530 locally, the TVAVA contributed $200 and the Upper East Tennessee TVAVA Retirees Association collected $100 for a phone card for Melton to use to call home. A yellow ribbon and photo of Melton has been placed in the units 1 and 2 control room as a reminder that one of the plant’s employees is serving the country.

  photo photo
  Stephen Surles Millie Callaway

Stephen Surles has been named regional-development specialist with the Economic Development staff in the Mississippi district, and Millie Callaway has been named regional-development specialist for the Upper Cumberland region of Tennessee.

Surles’ and Callaway’s responsibilities include assisting prospective or expanding industries, providing financial and technical services, and helping communities support and expand existing businesses.

Surles will support local distributors of TVA power, the Mississippi Development Authority, and regional and local community economic-development organizations. Callaway will support TVA power-distributor customers, community leaders, and state and regional economic-development partners to create, sustain and foster job growth in a 17-county area.

Surles previously served as the lead economic developer for the Union County Development Association in New Albany, Miss. Callaway previously served as a jobs-development specialist in the Chattanooga regional office for the Tennessee Department of Economic & Community Development, where she worked to recruit and expand the existing business base for a 15-county area.

Randy Snyder joins BVI Board

photoRandy Snyder, recently retired vice president of TVA’s Retirement Services organization, has been elected to the board of BVI, an organization of TVA retirees. Snyder retired Dec. 31, 2008, after 28 years with TVA.

“At TVA, Randy directed one of the largest pension plans in the world,” says Mike Lamb, BVI president. “His proven record in financial management and clear understanding of TVA’s business will be great assets to our board. We are excited about this addition.”



New Employees

Allen Michael Phillips, Spring City, NPG

Ryan A. Phillips, Muscle Shoals, FPG

Stacey Earl Presley, Decatur, NPG

Randale Price, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Mark Anthony Puckett, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

John Andrew Raines, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Millard Arthur Ramsey, Chattanooga, Power System Operations

Dennis W. Redinger, Spring City, NPG

Jeremy D. Reed, Drakesboro, FPG

May Aileen Reeves, Chattanooga, HR

Matthew Thomas Reeves, Stevenson, FPG

Christopher Thomas Reischman, Decatur, NPG

Cierra Jade Roberts, Decatur, NPG

Matthew John Robertson, Spring City, NPG

David A. Robinson, Chattanooga, IS

Bryson C. Rogers, Cumberland City, FPG

Leland Rothwell, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Michael Thomas Rush, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Lindsey Nicole Ryan, Decatur, NPG

Brandon Alan Sapp, Chattanooga, IS

John E. Sherrill, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Eric L. Silvers, Spring City, NPG

Scott Kevin Silvers, Spring City, NPG

Kevin P. Simpson, Kingston, FPG

Gregory Martin Smith, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Rex L. Smith, Spring City, NPG

Clinton J. Snell, Spring City, NPG

Terri Lynn Snyder, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Stephen Ray Spears, Decatur, NPG

Carlton G. Springer, Muscle Shoals, OE&R

Richard W. Steed, Decatur, NPG

Jason A. Steele, Decatur, NPG

Christopher Wayne Stoker, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Daniel N. Sullins, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Jason Cleveland Tanner, Spring City, Nuc Gd&C

Russell Shannon Thomas, Spring City, NPG

Jeremy Damon Thompson, Spring City, NPG

Peter A. Thompson, Decatur, NPG

Thor R. Thomsen, San Antonio, OE&R

David A. Thorpe, Memphis, FPG

Elijah Travis Tinker, Stevenson, FPG

Tanya D. Townsend, Decatur, NPG

John Robert Tuite, Spring City, NPG

Kelly James Vidalier, Decatur, NPG

Joseph R. Walden, Chattanooga, PSO

Melanie A. Walker, Spring City, NPG

Rodney Paul Wallace, Stevenson, FPG

Christopher Todd Warren, Knoxville, FS

Darcell M. Washington, Decatur, NPG

Dennis Earl Webb, Decatur, NPG

William Robert Webster, Decatur, NPG

Joseph William White, Kingston, FPG

Brandon Jon Wiegand, Knoxville, IS

David R. Wilkerson, Decatur, NPG

Vernon E. Willingham, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Jeffery Mark Wilson, Soddy-Daisy, NPG

Hugh Dalton Yates, New Johnsonville, FPG

Ronald Dean Yoder, Brownsville, FPG

Jonathan Seth Young, Chattanooga, PSO