October 2008

TVA Retirees

A good time for good friends

About 900 retirees and guests gathered for the TVA retirees annual picnic in Guntersville, Ala., Sept. 5.

Chief Administrative Officer John Long was on hand to thank retirees for their support of TVA throughout the year. Randy Snyder, vice president, Retirement Services, who is retiring Dec. 31, also thanked retirees for their support, noting that he would happily be among the audience next year. He introduced Tammy Wilson, who has been named to succeed him.

Sponsored by TVA, the picnic provides an opportunity for TVA retirees Valleywide to refresh friendships. Also, it allows TVA to express its appreciation for past and current retiree contributions to TVA and Valley communities.


Retirees Gus Hildebrand from Tupelo (left) and Earl Evans from Muscle Shoals visit exhibitors during the picnic festivities.


Sadie Holmon from Muscle Shoals and Berdie Thompson from Sheffield take a few minutes to visit.


On behalf of all retirees, TVARA Valleywide President Ron Loving salutes Randy Snyder, TVA vice president, Retirement Services, who has announced his retirement effective Dec. 31, 2008.


Greeting picnic guests, Tom Swanson, president, Chattanooga Chapter, TVARA, is the incoming TVARA Valleywide president.




New Retirees

39 years
Gary J. Vinson, Fossil Power Group, Kingston
Glenn D. Webb, FPG, Drakesboro

38 years
James S. Whitehurst, Nuclear Power Group, Decatur

36 years
Gary L. Dill, NPG, Soddy-Daisy

35 years
Harry A. Tirey, NPG, Soddy-Daisy

34 years
Ronald K. Hall, Nuclear Generation, Development & Construction, Knoxville

33 years
Russell T. Brady, NPG, Spring City
Micheal D. Clement, Customer Resources, Chattanooga
Charles T. Perry, FPG, Drakesboro
Paulette Y. Russell, Procurement, Tuscumbia

32 years
Myron N. Callaham, CR, Bowling Green
Kenneth L. Garland, NPG, Decatur
William P. Ownby, CR, Knoxville
William Robertson Jr., Power System Operations, Cordova
Beverly A. Rowe, Information Services, Chattanooga

31 years
Linda C. Cowan, NPG, Soddy-Daisy
Harold E. Sikes, FPG, New Johnsonville

30 years
Mitchell D. Adams, FPG, Stevenson
Ralph C. Barksdale Jr., FPG, Gallatin