August 2008

people, plaudits, and promotions

photoLaura Duncan, an Environmental Management System specialist in the Office of Environment & Research, has completed requirements for certification as a Registered Environmental Manager. REM is the highest professional/management level of registration with the National Registry of Environmental Professionals. This certification is designed for environmental managers who demonstrate through education, work experience and a written examination an established level of competence in environmental laws and regulations, methods and equipment, and management of environmental projects.

photophotoThe National Urban League has awarded the Knoxville Area Urban League Young Professionals organization with its Outstanding Rookie Chapter of the Year Award. TVA Procurement’s Kevin Wren and Tyrone Scott, catalysts for the Urban League’s mission of Changing Lives and Empowering the Community, created and supported programs designed to achieve this mission. The Young Professionals chapter was established a year ago. “This is a huge accomplishment and is the direct result of the hard work we all put into making the Knoxville community a better place to live,’ Wren says. Peyton Hairston, senior vice president of Corporate Responsibility & Diversity, is a Knoxville Area Urban League board member.

photoDave Beckler, vice president, Labor Relations, accepted the TVA 75 years recognition award “Working Together” at the recent Tennessee Labor Management Conference in Nashville. Barbara Haskew, director, Tennessee Center for Labor-Management Relations, presented the award. The honor recognized the long and productive relationship between TVA and its unions, as well as the innovative and extraordinary programs they have partnered within the organization, the industry, the region and the community, Haskew noted.

New Employees

Scotty Wayne Aycock, Decatur, Nuclear Power Group
Michele L. Baker-Lindsay, Spring City, NPG
Larry J. Benjamin, Chattanooga, NPG
Michael Anthony Blakely, Decatur, NPG
Rickey J. Brogan, Spring City, NPG
Allen M. Buckner, Decatur, NPG
Jennifer C. Carr, Nashville, Financial Services
Joseph Green Carver, Decatur, NPG
Laura H. Clem, Decatur, NPG
Eric Russell Compton, West Point, Power System Operations
Judson Everett Crowell, Decatur, NPG
Zachary B. Davis, Decatur, NPG
Richard Gary Desha, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
John C. Doscher, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
David A. Driver, Clinton, Human Resources
Elaine C. Elkins, Knoxville, FS
Kristopher T. Emery, Knoxville, FS
Joshua Adam Estes, Decatur, NPG
Wigberto Flores-Hernandez, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Christopher Shea Gaither, Chattanooga, PSO
Brad Jonathan Geremia, Chattanooga, Fossil Power Group
Stephen Wyatt Gibbs, Gallatin, FPG
Leslie J. Gladney, Chattanooga, NPG
Tyler Keith Haraway, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Benjamin David Hodges, Decatur, NPG
Clifton Leon Jackson, Decatur, NPG
David Michael James, Decatur, NPG
James Malcolm King, Decatur, NPG
Eric Jackson Lambert, Decatur, NPG
James David Lane, Knoxville, Research & Technology Applications
Lindsey David Lyons, Decatur, NPG
Scott Adrian Marler, Knoxville, Inspector General
Phillip Wade McDougal, Decatur, NPG
Tina Darlene Mixon, Decatur, NPG
Joshua S. Moffitt, Chattanooga, NPG
Brandon Joseph Ogletree, Decatur, NPG
Steven Lee Payne, Tuscumbia, FPG
Michael Craven Penny, Drakesboro, FPG
Kevin Wade Putman, Decatur, NPG
Timothy J. Range, Muscle Shoals, PSO
Myra G. Richardson, Knoxville, FS
Seth Franklin Rogers, Spring City, NPG
Brandi Lee Ruth, Knoxville, R&TA
Mark Douglas Rutherford, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Darrell J. Sevier, Gallatin, FPG
Gregory Lee Shelton, Decatur, NPG
Shawn P. Speck, Gallatin, FPG
Bradley Jack Stapp, West Point, PSO
Christopher A. Stovall, Decatur, NPG
Tracy D. Sudoko, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Spencer Eugene Thompson, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Travis Michael Tucker, Decatur, NPG
Charles Randall Walker, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Ronald Allan Walker, Decatur, NPG
Jefferson Lee Ware, Huntsville, IG
Michael Dale White, Decatur, NPG
Roosevelt M. Williams, Soddy-Daisy, NPG
Jody Scott Wilson, Decatur, NPG
Jennifer L. Womack, Knoxville, FS
Peter Deangelo Wright, Soddy-Daisy, NPG