tva logoTennessee Valley Authority
TVA River Neighbors

Regional Resource Stewardship Council begins fifth term

The first meeting of TVA’s fifth-term Regional Resource Stewardship Council was held in Knoxville on July 15.

Council members heard updates on TVA’s Integrated Resource Plan, reservoir system operations, the clean-up of a release of ash at TVA’s Kingston Fossil Plant in East Tennessee, and other projects. They provided input related to setting a value on future leases and easements for commercial campground and marina operations and on the scope of issues to be included in the environmental stewardship review TVA is currently conducting. (See related story, “TVA to review land and water stewardship activities.”)

Information and the advice received from the Council are available on the Regional Resource Stewardship Council web site. The Council’s advice will be reviewed by TVA management and factored into future program design and operation decisions.

The Council, which was originally formed in 2000, consists of 20 stakeholder representatives who provide advice to TVA on the way it carries out its natural resource stewardship responsibilities.

Members are appointed by the TVA Board to serve two-year terms on the Council after receiving nominations from governors of the states served by TVA and recommendations from TVA customer organizations, community officials, and other stakeholder groups.

The fifth term Council includes seven new members. Zee Enix, Murray, KY, was nominated by Kentucky Governor Steve Beshear, and Larry Kernea, Murphy, NC, was nominated by TVA’s power distributor customers. Mark Hommrich, Brentwood, TN; John Wilbanks, Pigeon Forge, TN; Renee Hoyos, Knoxville, TN; Kelly Tiller, Knoxville, TN; and Deborah Woolley, Nashville, TN, were appointed to the Council based on recommendations by other stakeholders.

Members reappointed by governors are Arthur Orr, Decatur, AL; W. C. Nelson, Blairsville, GA; Jean Kellems Elmore, West Point, MS; Bill Forsyth, Murphy, N.C.; Carol Doss, Abingdon, VA; and Jim Fyke, Nashville, TN.

Other Council members returning are Karl Dudley, Selmer, TN; George Kitchens, Trinity, AL; Wes Rosenbalm, Bristol, VA; Mike Goodman, New Johnsonville; TN; Bill Tittle, Chattanooga, TN; Russell Townsend, Bryson City, N.C.; and Tom Littlepage, Montgomery, AL.

Littlepage will continue to serve as Council chairman, working with TVA to prepare agendas for meetings and chair each session. Members will serve through February 2011 in accordance with the Council’s charter.

Anda Ray, Senior Vice President of the Office of Environment & Research and TVA’s Environmental Executive, is the designated federal officer for the Council. “TVA has come to rely on the Council to provide advice representing a wide range of stakeholder interests and concerns,” said Ray. “We appreciate the continued willingness to serve by returning members and are looking forward to the fresh perspectives provided by our seven new members.”

The Council’s next meeting is scheduled for October 29-30 in Knoxville. Meetings are open to the public.

Read information about the fifth-term Council members or contact a member.




Content for id "future1" Goes Here
Content for id "future2" Goes Here
Content for id "future3" Goes Here