tva logoTennessee Valley Authority
TVA River Neighbors

Regional Resource Stewardship Council members named

The TVA Board has approved the appointment of members to serve during the fourth term of the Regional Resource Stewardship Council, which was established in 2000 to provide advice and counsel to TVA on the management of natural resources in the Tennessee Valley.

The 20-member council was created under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, which sets guidelines for establishing a group that provides advice or makes recommendations to a federal agency.

“We appreciate the dedication and commitment of the men and women who serve on this council and provide their advice and ideas to help TVA manage the natural resources of the Tennessee Valley for the benefit of the people we serve,” said TVA President and CEO Tom Kilgore. “Their valuable input is important to us, and we are committed to the council’s continued success.”

The TVA Board approved the appointment of members to serve two-year terms on the council after receiving nominations from governors of the states served by TVA and recommendations from TVA customer organizations, community officials, and other stakeholder groups. The first meeting of the new council is scheduled for Oct. 11-12 in Knoxville and will be open to the public.

New council members nominated by governors are State Sen. Arthur Orr, Decatur, Ala., and Jean Kellems Elmore, Tupelo, Miss.

New members nominated by TVA’s directly served and distributor customers are Mike Goodman, New Johnsonville, Tenn.; George Kitchens, Trinity, Ala.; and Wes Rosenbalm, Bristol, Va. Jeff Durniak, Gainesville, Ga.; Glenn Bibbins, Dandridge, Tenn.; and Russell Townsend, Bryson City, N.C., were appointed to the council based on recommendations by stakeholders.

Members reappointed by governors are W. C. Nelson, Blairsville, Ga.; Bill Forsyth, Murphy, N.C.; Kenneth Darnell, Murray, Ky.; and Jim Fyke, Nashville, Tenn.

Other council members returning are Karl Dudley, Selmer, Tenn.; Roy G. (Joe) Satterfield, Young Harris, Ga.; Bruce Shupp, Guntersville, Ala.; Tom Vorholt and Mike Butler, Nashville, Tenn.; Bill Tittle, Chattanooga, Tenn.; and Tom Littlepage, Montgomery, Ala.

Littlepage will become the new council chairman, working with TVA to prepare agendas for meetings and chair each session. Members will serve through February 2009 in accordance with the council’s charter.

Peyton Hairston, TVA’s Senior Vice President of Corporate Responsibility and Diversity, will serve as the designated federal officer for the council. Hairston was appointed to this position because of his community relations responsibilities.






Content for id "future1" Goes Here
Content for id "future2" Goes Here
Content for id "future3" Goes Here