TVA Offers Free Virtual Money-Saving Energy Workshops

Sep 28, 2020

KNOXVILLE, Tenn.­­ – Just in time for the fall weather, the Tennessee Valley Authority announced Monday that it is offering a series of free virtual energy workshops to help people learn valuable techniques to save energy and reduce their power bills.

During COVID-19, the virtual workshop is a safe way to learn about what is driving your home’s energy costs and the steps you can take, such as installing insulation, weather stripping, duct sealing and energy-efficient lightbulbs, to save money each month. Complete a workshop survey for a free Home Energy Starter Kit valued at $25 to help you make your home more comfortable this winter. 

Register for one of the following workshops here.

  • Tuesday, Sept. 29, 11 a.m. EDT / 10 a.m. CDT
  • Wednesday, Oct. 14, 6:30 p.m. EDT / 5:30 p.m. CDT
  • Thursday, Oct. 29, 11 a.m. EDT / 10 a.m. CDT
  • Thursday, Nov. 12, 6:30 p.m. EST / 5:30 p.m. CST
  • Thursday, Nov. 19, 11 a.m. EST / 10 a.m. CST
  • Tuesday, Dec. 8, 6:30 p.m. EST / 5:30 p.m. CST

TVA Children’s Energy Workshops Available

To ensure the entire family has good energy habits, TVA is offering additional one-hour Eye Spy Energy Workshops for children. Hang out with the TVA EnergyRight Monsters, who will teach children where energy comes from, the ways we use energy and how they can help their parents save energy and money. The workshops are ideal for children first grade through fifth grade.  

Parents can register children for the following workshops here.

  • Tuesday, Oct. 6, 11a.m. EDT / 10 a.m. CDT
  • Tuesday, Oct. 20, 5 p.m. EDT / 4 p.m. CDT
  • Wednesday, Nov. 4, 11 a.m. EST / 10 a.m. CST
  • Tuesday, Nov. 17, 5 p.m. EST / 4 p.m. CST
  • Thursday, Dec. 3, 11 a.m. EST / 10 a.m. CST

For more information about TVA and its 87-year mission of service to the Tennessee Valley, click here.

Contact

Scott Fiedler
Public Relations
safiedler@tva.gov
423-751-7883

TVA Media Line

Our media staff is available 24 hours a day. If you cannot reach the contact above, please call our media line at 865-632-6000.

TVA EnergyRight Monsters make learning interactive and fun for children. Download a high-resolution image here