Board of Directors

Board Members

They are nominated by the President of the United States and confirmed by the Senate, and each serves a term of five years. The proceedings of their meetings are open to the public. When their terms expire, directors may remain on the board until the end of the current congressional session (typically in December) or until their successors take office, whichever comes first.

August 22, 2019 - Board Meeting

You can replay the video and review information from the TVA Board of Directors’ most recent meeting below.

Streaming Video




Skip Thompson

Chair: James “Skip” Thompson of Decatur, Ala., is the president and CEO of Corporate Billing, a subsidiary of National Bank of Commerce, Birmingham, Ala. Previously, he served as the president and CEO of both First American Bank in Decatur and First Commercial Bank in Huntsville, Ala., as well as serving on the board of Decatur Utilities. His term expires May 18, 2021.

Kenneth Allen

Kenneth Allen of White Plains, Ky., was executive vice president of operations and chief operating officer for Armstrong Coal Company. With a 50-plus year career in the coal industry, he has served in numerous roles from field electrician to division chief electrical engineer to mine superintendent to operations manager to VP of resource development and conservancy for Peabody Energy. His term expires May 18, 2021.


A.D. Frazier of Mineral Bluff, Ga., has spent his entire 35-year career as an executive manager in the for-profit, not-for-profit and government sectors, principally in the financial services industry. After serving as the chief operating officer of the Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games, he became the only COO to be awarded the International Olympic Committee’s Olympic Order in Gold, its highest service award. His term expires May 18, 2022.

Richard Howorth of Oxford, Miss., served two terms as mayor of Oxford and is founder and owner of Square Books, a leading independent bookstore in Oxford. As mayor, he was chairman of the authority overseeing the Oxford Electric Department. He served eight years as a director and officer of the North Mississippi Industrial Development Association and is former president of the American Booksellers Association. His term expires May 18, 2020.


William Kilbride of Chattanooga, Tenn., served as President/CEO of the Chattanooga Area Chamber of Commerce from 2014 to 2017. Previously, he served as president of the Home Division and Chief Sustainability Officer for Mohawk Industries in Calhoun, Ga., for over 20 years. He currently serves on the board of several non-profit and for-profit Chattanooga-based organizations. His term expires May 18, 2023.

Virginia Lodge of Nashville, Tenn. is currently CEO of FSI Inc., a position she has held since 2012. Prior to this, she served as commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Human Services from 2003 to 2011. She was the executive director for Kids Voting of Middle Tennessee from 1994 to 1999. During her entire career, Ms. Lodge worked on a number of political campaigns. Her term expires May 18, 2019.


John Ryder of Memphis, Tenn., served as General Counsel for the Republican National Committee from 2013 to 2017. In addition, he remains a leading bankruptcy and election law attorney with the Harris Shelton law firm in Memphis and has served as adjunct law professor at Vanderbilt University, his law school alma mater. His term expires May 18, 2021.

Jeff Smith

Jeff W. Smith of Knoxville, Tenn., is the executive vice president for operations for UT-Battelle and serves as the deputy of operations at Oak Ridge National Laboratory. His tenure at the lab has been accompanied by significant expansion and modernization, even while reducing operational costs. During a six-month special assignment in 2002, he assisted with the creation of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security. His term expires May 18, 2022.

Ronald Walter of Memphis, Tenn., is currently the president and general manager of WREG-TV, a position he has held since 2004. Mr. Walter has served in a variety of positions at WREG-TV since 1987. Prior to WREG-TV, Mr. Walter was employed by Memphis Light, Gas and Water and was vice president of customer relations from 1982 to 1987, and served as assistant to the president from 1980 to 1982. His term expires May 18, 2019.

What does the Board do?

As provided by the TVA Act and the TVA Bylaws, the principle responsibilities of the Board are to establish broad strategies, goals and objectives; set long range plans and policies; and to ensure their implementation by the TVA staff, which is led by the Chief Executive Officer. Directors swear an oath to faithfully and impartially perform the duties of the office.

To learn more about the work of the Board of Directors, read about the rules and regulations that form Our Governance.

Contact Information

TVA Board of Directors
Board Services
400 West Summit Hill Drive WT 7
Knoxville, TN 37902

(865) 632-4000

2019 Meeting Schedule


February 14, 2019 — Chattanooga, Tenn.
May 9, 2019 — Franklin, Tenn.
August 22, 2019 — Knoxville, Tenn.
November 14, 2019 — Memphis, Tenn